“So, What Is Your Blog’s ‘Hook’?”

“What is your blog’s hook?”   That’s the question a pastor/writer friend of mine (the very gifted MaryAnn McKibben Dana) asked after she looked at my first post.  I’d enlisted her to give me some feedback on the blog and she responded with a variety of helpful format suggestions.  She also added this helpful content tip.   She said it would be useful to complete this sentence:  “This is a space for…”  Moreover, she shared, I might want to finish that sentence in my next post.

So here we go.  What is this blog a space for?

1. It will, at times, be a space for my thoughts on life in general.  As I wrote in my kick-off post, I am interested  above all in addressing what binds human beings together in a larger human community.  The quick answer to that, of course, is love; love that cares enough to become vulnerable for the sake of the other; love that finds embodiment in life as it is lived.

Part of the common experience of being human is that we all have certain people and things that bring joy, color, and passion to our lives.  So in this blog you’ll hear about people that are important to me:  my wonderful wife and colleague in ministry, Judith; my two lovely and bright daughters, Rebecca and Martha; and you will meet some of my other family and friends along the way.   You’ll get a sense of how I understand myself as husband, father, son, friend, and citizen.

Three of the the people who are really important to me: my wife Judith, and daughters Rebecca and Martha

You’ll also hear about some of the things I enjoy, including music, movies, books, and sports.  As l comment on them, I will from time to time post links to songs, movie clips, and the like.   Also, because I believe it is important for all of us to participate in the political sphere, you may occasionally be treated to my opinions on issues of the day.  Those issues, too, are part of life and how love finds embodiment.   (But please note: my views are not necessarily those of the entire congregation or the particular denomination in which I serve).

2. This blog will also be a space for my thoughts on pastoral ministry.  I’ll reflect on what it means to live out God’s call to serve as a pastor in a congregation—preaching, teaching, praying, caring, leading, and thinking theologically about the challenges and opportunities life brings.  I will at least occasionally post sermons or prayers. 

The context in which I do ministry at this time is Immanuel Presbyterian Church in McLean, Virginia.  So my reflections will primarily be shaped by my experience with that congregation and others I’ve served.  But my hope is that what is most particular is also most universal. 

The exterior of the sanctuary of Immanuel Presbyterian Church. The church, however, is the people. And they are a wonderful bunch.

As I share my thoughts about pastoral ministry, I hope to provide you a glimpse into what Lillian Daniel and Martin Copenhaver have called This Odd and Wondrous Calling.  By the way, if you are not a pastor, that book will give you a great window into what it’s like to be an ordained minister.  If you are a pastor, I trust you’ll find  strength and hope from what Daniel and Copenhaver relate from their own experiences.  (I don’t get a commission on sales of that book, but I ought to.  I recommend it often enough!)

3. Finally, this blog will be a space for my thoughts on living in a body.   One of the learnings that I’ve finally really internalized (when the pupil is ready, the teacher will appear) in the past year is this:   When it comes to a body, you and I only get one.  It is up to us to take care of it. 

The body and the soul are integrally connected.  It is the place where the soul dwells.  So I do well to do my part to make sure it is in good working order.  This means I have to be mindful about the food and drink I put into it, my commitment to exercise it, and my need to rest it.  I’ll share thoughts on my ongoing fitness journey in hopes that it might inspire yours.

A question you might be asking yourself right about now is, “So what does all of this have to do with Serving a Scarred God?”  I’ll share some perspectives on that in my next post.

This entry was posted in Thoughts & Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “So, What Is Your Blog’s ‘Hook’?”

  1. brooksley says:

    Aaron, I was totally hooked and moved by the picture of your family. You are brave and bold to post it and reveal yourself to us in that way. I am inspired- perhaps I’ll post a picture of my family?

    • afeickstaedt says:

      Thanks, Brooksley! I’ve grown fairly comfortable with that level of vulnerability. But if my children were younger, I’d be a little more careful with sharing details. I’m enjoying coming to know all of you in the group through your blogs and our classes. I’m eager to learn more about Ayurveda and how its insights and disciplines connect to life as it is lived….

  2. Ashley King says:

    I love what you are creating here, Aaron. And I relate to so much of what you are interested in exploring, albeit from a slightly different vantage point given who I am/what I do. But the idea of a “scarred god” is perfect in its supposed imperfection; it makes me think of the concept of the wounded healer, an archetype I revere and relate to. As for the concept of embodiment, well, this yogini is forever exploring that one! My quest is very much to heal the Spirit/Matter split, and I suspect we’re on some common ground. I look forward to reading more!

    • afeickstaedt says:

      Ashley, thanks for the encouragement! I think we do share some common ground–a common appreciation for the notion of embodiment, the value (and necessity, I think) of the concept of the Wounded Healer. A great book to read, if you haven’t already, is The Spirituality of Imperfection… I’m looking forward to reading more from your blog and seeing how you grow through the big life transition you’re in the middle of right now. Thank you for your generosity and vulnerability.

  3. Wow, this is delish. And I want to read that book you recommend. I look forward, too, to having some virtual Immanuel by reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

